header graphic

Board of Directors & Staff

Derek Jones - CNGPA President
Derek Jones is a royalty owner. He has been active in the oil and gas industry since 1975, and has attained experience in oil and gas exploration and production, energy marketing and resource development.  Derek has extensive experience in the California gas market with pipeline development and operations. He has also been involved in executive positions with the California Natural Gas Producers Association, California Independent Petroleum Association, Independent Petroleum Association of America, Sacramento Petroleum Association, and the Sacramento Valley Exploration Society.

Jerry Reedy -  CNGPA Treasurer
Jerry Reedy is a royalty owner and former President of Rio Delta Resources. Jerry served as president of CNGPA from 2006-2008.

Sean Wallentine - CNGPA Executive Director 
Sean Wallentine serves as both the California Independent Petroleum Association's (CIPA) vice president of government affairs as well as executive director of the California Natural Gas Producers Association (CNGPA), a wholly owned subsidiary of CIPA.  Sean is CIPA's in-house state lobbyist and leads CIPA’s federal advocacy at both federal agencies and in Congress.  Since beginning his career as a political adviser in 1994, Sean has worked for numerous elected leaders in the state legislature as well as in the private sector as a campaign manager and campaign consultant.

Additional seats on the CNGPA Board are held by:

  • Nicki Carlsen, Alston & Bird, LLP
  • Shannon Peacock, Booher Consulting, LLC
  • Amir Sardari, Energy & Environment, Inc.
  • Bruce Webster, Royalty Owner


CNGPA | 1001 K Street, Floor 6 | Sacramento, CA | 95814 | 916-447-1177 | 916-447-1144 Fax